top of page

Adventures fill your soul..

Lockdown level 3 gave hiking trails what I think is the biggest influx of visitors they’ve seen in the last few years. People had been cooped up in their houses for way too long, and so they took to the trails.


Let’s talk hiking. More realistically, let’s talk walking since that’s actually what it is. Using the word hiking makes it seem professional and intimidating. I’ve spent a long time avoiding it because it seemed a lot scarier than it is – please don’t let this stop you too. We all have to start somewhere, and a flat 3km route is a perfect place to do that.



Exploring hiking trails on weekends has allowed my family and I to explore more areas of Joburg and gave us an opportunity to create new memories together. Keep reading to find out my top 5 things to include in your hiking bag.


1. Water

I’d have hoped this one would be obvious, but alas, I’ve found myself thirsty on a trail because we brought one bottle of water to share between the four of us rather than a bottle each. Most hiking trails recommend about half a litre of water per person, per hour.


2. Oranges

Any snacks are always a win, but nothing I’ve brought with me so far has beaten the slices of pure bliss that are an orange eaten in the shade while taking yet another break to catch our breath. Some trails don’t allow food on the path, so make sure you respect the rules of your chosen venue. That, or bring along a diabetic to be your scapegoat like we do!


3. Rubbish bags

Unfortunately, snacks usually mean packaging which usually means litter. We try to remember our own rubbish bag so that we don’t have to chuck our peels in the same backpack pocket as our phones or jerseys. It’s also great to have so that any litter that’s been left along the trail can be picked up.


4. An extra pair of sneakers

I just mean pack sensibly, and that means something different to everyone. To me, it’s a reminder to bring a jersey and not just a thermal vest when you walk a trail in early August. To my mom, it’s bringing her old pair of sneakers on the trail, so she doesn’t have to make her children run 1.5km back to the car to fetch them when her hiking boots that she hauled out the back of her cupboard

make her feet hurt.


5. A crowd that shares your goals

I’m a snail on a trail, literally. I hike extremely slowly. I enjoy being surrounded by nature and I want to soak up and experience as much of it as I can. If you go hiking with people who are interested in walking faster or only stopping at designated viewpoints, you risk getting annoyed. It’s important to find the right crowd to hike with. For me, that’s a group of people who want to sit and admire the view for as long as possible. For someone else, that might be a group that likes to break into a jog every now and then. If you’re all on the same page, and you’re expecting and excited about a similar experience, there’ll be a group of happy campers!


My top 3 beginner trails are:

· The 2.3km Hadeda trail at Faerie Glen Nature Reserve,

· The 5km Zebra trail at Hennops Hiking & Mtb Trails, and

· The 10km trail at Cradle Moon Lakeside Game Lodge.



Remember to check entry fees before you go!


If you haven’t felt the pull of the hiking trails yet, I encourage you to get out there! I hope you love it as much as I do. Your Instagram page could definitely benefit from the iconic picture of the Cradle Moon waterfall.









 

Meet today's author - Hannah Ainsley..


Today's boss babe is a BSc graduate from Wits University currently taking a gap year to enjoy life at her own terms.


She's the sweetest soul filled to the brim with positivity! Hannah loves nothing more than being active and exploring all the world has to offer - she has an impressive amount of countries she's visited too.


If you'd like to read more about Hannah and her adventures by following her on Instagram (@han.ainsley)


18112816756191673.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Hope you're smiling and feeling inspired! To avoid missing out on our lovely posts, be sure to subscribe below :)

And if there's anything you'd like us to do a feature on, let us know xx

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page